Mar 7, 2022

Special Student Relief through DHS

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) offers Special Student Relief (SSR), the suspension of certain regulatory requirements, for F-1 students from countries experiencing emergent situations.

Regulatory requirements that DHS may suspend include duration of status, full course of study and off-campus employment eligibility.

To apply, students must meet the SSR student criteria and be from a currently eligible country:

  • Haiti
  • Hong Kong
  • Myanmar
  • Somalia
  • Syria
  • Venezuela
  • Yemen

Students from these countries who have questions about applying for SSR should email

It should be noted that SSR and Temporary Protected Status (TPS) are different. DHS may designate a country for TPS due to conditions in the country that temporarily prevent foreign nationals from returning to their home country safely.

If students have questions about TPS eligibility and the application process, please contact Student Legal Services at 614-247-5853.