Grants and Scholarships


The Fulbright Program is the U.S. government’s flagship international educational and cultural exchange program, creating connections in a complex and changing world. Led by the U.S. government in partnership with 160 countries worldwide, Fulbright builds lasting connections between the people of the United States and the people of other countries—building mutual understanding between nations, advancing knowledge across communities, and improving lives around the world.

The international educational exchange program is supported by an annual appropriation by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (ECA). Participating governments and host institutions, corporations and foundations in foreign countries and in the United States also provide direct and indirect support.

Senator J. William Fulbright envisioned an educational and cultural exchange program that would connect people and encourage them to learn about each others' cultures and values - that vision became the Fulbright Program.

Fulbright provides participants the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns. Undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and administrators who are U.S. citizens are eligible to apply for Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program, Fulbright International Education (IEA), Fulbright U.S. Specialist Program and Fulbright U.S. Student Program.

Fulbright Administrative Offices at Ohio State

Two offices on the Ohio State campus administer Fulbright programs:


Fulbright Week at Ohio State

Each year the Office of International Affairs and the Undergraduate Fellowship Office combine efforts to provide a full week of events including information sessions, workshops and panels to inform faculty, graduate and undergraduate students about the opportunities available through the Fulbright and Fulbright-Hays programs. All Ohio State faculty, professionals, graduate and undergraduate students are welcome to participate in Fulbright Week in March 2024

Information Sessions

The Office of International Affairs holds periodic info sessions to share knowledge of Fulbright opportunities for faculty, administrators, graduate students and postdocs.

In partnership with the Office of Institutional Research and Planning, the Office of International Affairs released an assessment of the Fulbright Scholar Program in 2019. The objectives of the university-wide study focused on the impact and outcomes of the program on recipients’ teaching, research and service; documenting the impact on building international partnerships; examining the campus climate; and identifying future directions of the program.

The Office of International Affairs is now sharing the Fulbright Scholar Report and implementing these recommendations with the goal of greater awareness of the value the Fulbright Scholar Program, and of establishment of uniform knowledge, policies and practices across the university that are supportive to applicants and recipients of this highly prestigious award. International Affairs also published an Executive Summary report that includes recommendations and future direction for the Fulbright Program at Ohio State.

The Fulbright Scholar Program Advisory Committee advises, assists, supports and advocates for Fulbright programs on the Ohio State campus on matters that will strengthen opportunities for faculty, staff and students. The Committee’s responsibilities include:

  • Support and advocate for the Fulbright program to raise its profile and visibility.
  • Assist the program in setting priorities, including participating in ongoing planning activities.
  • Facilitate cooperation and communication between the program and the campus community.
  • Offer recommendations for program improvement.

The Fulbright Scholar Program Advisory Committee is authorized by the Office of International Affairs and will serve at the pleasure of the governing body. It shall be composed of faculty representing different colleges and departments. Read the full Advisory Committee Charter.

Fulbright Scholar Program Advisory Committee Members (Autumn 2020)

  • Dianne Morrison-Beedy, Chief Talent & Global Strategy Officers, Centennial Professor, College of Nursing
  • Ann O’Connell, Professor, Department of Educational Studies College of Education and Human Ecology
  • Stephen A. Petrill, Professor, Department of Psychology Associate Dean, Research, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Halil Sezen, Professor, Department of Civil, Environmental and Geodetic Engineering
  • Jeannie Simmons, Director, Education Abroad, Office of International Affairs
  • Lorraine S. Wallace, Associate Professor and Director of Research, Department of Biomedical Education & Anatomy
  • Lisa Voigt, Professor, Department of Spanish and Portuguese
  • Michael Vuolo, Associate Professor, Department of Sociology
  • Joanna Kukielka-Blaser, (Ex officio) Program Director, International Partnerships, Fulbright Scholar Program Campus Liaison