Ohio State Navbar

The Ohio State UniversityOffice of International Affairs

give a donation


Revised Executive Order Issued

The Office of International Affairs is committed to supporting and assisting the university community with international related-concerns. In light of the new executive order that was signed on March 6, 2017, additional information and resources are available for those students, faculty and staff who are affected or who may have concerns.

While the new executive order is narrower in scope, it still has broad implications for our university community. Entry into the United States has been suspended for certain nationals of Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen. Iraq has been exempted. The travel suspension is effective on March 16 for 90 days. Travelers to those countries who are permanent residents ("green card holders") of the United States or dual citizens who use a passport from another country, and those who hold a valid visa are exempt from the suspension. The U.S. Department of Homeland Security has posted a Q&A that offers additional details and examples that may be helpful.

The university still cautions against travel outside the United States if you are a national of any of these countries. Please seek the advice of an experienced immigration attorney if you are considering travel outside the United States. You can find some available resources here.

If any member of the Ohio State community has questions or concerns about their immigration status, please contact the Office of International Affairs at iss@osu.edu.

As always, support resources for students are available through Student Life's Counseling and Consultation Service and for staff through the university's Employee Assistance Program.