Ohio State Navbar

The Ohio State UniversityOffice of International Affairs

give a donation


Four from Ohio State Earn Fulbright Scholar Grants for 2014-2015

One executive director and three associate professors from The Ohio State University have been awarded the prestigious Fulbright scholar grant by the U.S. Department of Education. Recipients are selected by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, which administers the program for the U.S. Department of State. The Fulbright Scholar Program offers U.S. faculty, administrators and professionals grants to lecture, do research or participate in seminars abroad. Approximately 1,100 U.S. faculty and professionals travel abroad on Fulbright Scholar Programs each year.

 2014-2015 Ohio State U.S. Fulbright Scholars

  • Christine O'Malley (executive director of the College of Public Health), for "Enhancing Institutional Communications Capacity" at the University of Gondar, Gondar, Ethiopia, February 2014 - March 2014
  • Bryan Mark (associate professor in the Department of Geography), for "Andean Glacier Hydrology in a Changing Climate: Advancing Transdisciplinary Understanding of Water Resources" at the Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos, Lima, Peru, January 2015 – April 2015
  • Leslie Moore (associate professor in the Department of Teaching and Learning), for "Research and Teaching in/as Cultural-Linguistic Contact Zones" at Utrecht University, Utrecht, Netherlands, August 2014 - August 2015.
  • James Gregory (associate professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering), for "Study of Dynamic Stall and its Implications for Wind Turbine Performance" at The Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel, January 2015 - April 2015.

The Office of International Affairs administers the Fulbright Scholar program for Ohio State. Grant competitions are held annually. Faculty and staff interested in applying for the FY2015 award should contact Joanna Kukielka-Blaser.