Ohio State Navbar

The Ohio State UniversityOffice of International Affairs

give a donation


14 from Ohio State earn Fulbright Scholar grants for 2013-2014

Fourteen faculty members from The Ohio State University have been selected as recipients of prestigious Fulbright fellowships. Recipients are selected by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, which administers the program for the U.S. Department of State. The Fulbright Scholar Program offers U.S. faculty, administrators and professionals grants to lecture, conduct research or participate in seminars abroad. Approximately 1,100 U.S. faculty and professionals travel abroad on Fulbright Scholar Programs each year.

2013-2014 Ohio State U.S. Fulbright Scholars

  • Carol Boram-Hays (lecturer, art history, The Ohio State University Marion), for "Art, Power and Zulu Beadwork: A Collaboration with the University of Witwattersrand," at the University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa, January – June 2014
  • Philip Brown (professor, Japanese and East Asian history), for "Dam Imperialism: The Case of the Wusantou Dam, Tainan, and Related Projects," at the Institute for Taiwan History at Academia Sinica in Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan, February – May 2014
  • Alcira Dueñas (associate professor, history), for "The Indian Republic at Work: Native Notaries, Lawyers, and Protectores de Naturales in the Colonial Andes," at the National Archive of Ecuador, Quito, Ecuador, May - July 2013 and May - July 2014.
  • Lisle Gibbs (professor, evolution, ecology and organismal biology), for “Beak of the Snake: Evolutionary Causes and Biomedical Implications of Venom Variation in Brazilian Lance-headed Vipers (Bothrops atrox) in the Amazon,” at Instituto Butantan, São Paulo, Brazil, June – July 2013 and June – July 2014
  • Parwinder Grewal (professor and University Distinguished Scholar, entomology), for "Fostering Resilience of Cities through Local Self-Reliance" at the International Resilience Center of the University of Stockholm, Stockholm, Sweden, August 2013 – December 2013
  • Kenneth Kolson (director, John Glenn School of Public Affairs, Washington office), for "Making Public Policy in the United States" at the University of Siauliai, Lithuania, January – May 2014
  • Bradford S. McGwire, M.D. (assistant professor, medicine), for “Field Work in Chagas Disease: Insect host-parasite Interactions, Disease Control and Prevention” at Centro de Investigación en Enfermedades Infecciosas de la Pontificia Universidad Católica del Ecuador, Ecuador, July 2013 – June 2014.
  • Ann O’Connell (professor, quantitative research, evaluation and measurement), for “Design and Outcomes of an Innovative Service/Internship Model for Statistical Education in Ethiopia,” at Addis Ababa University, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, August 2013 – April 2014
  • Stephen Petrill (professor, psychology), for “International Twin Studies Examining Gene-environment Processes in Mathematics Achievement,” at Tomsk State University, Tomsk, and Institute of the Russian Academy of Education, Moscow, Russia, August – November 2013
  • Anil Pradhan (professor, astronomy), for "Training the Next Generation of STEM Faculty" and "Radiation Physics from Astronomy to Biomedicine" at the University of Delhi, Delhi, India, December 2013 – June 2014
  • Ana Elena Puga (assistant professor, theatre), for “Staging Migrant Suffering,” at Universidad de Guadalajara, Guadalajara, Mexico, September 2013 – May 2014
  • Eric Seiber (assistant professor, health services management and policy), for “Identifying Colombian–U.S. Trade in Healthcare Services,” at Universidad de Los Andes, Bogotá, Colombia, January – May 2014
  • Linn Van Woerkom (associate provost and director for University Honors & Scholars and professor of physics). The Fulbright International Education Administrators Award will enable him to visit numerous colleges and universities throughout England and Scotland from August 3 - 23 to learn about the education system in the United Kingdom and establish networks of U.S. and international colleagues.
  • Macdonald Wick (associate professor, animal sciences), for "Molecular Biology of Food Animal Research," at The Saints Cyril and Methodius University of Skopje, Macedonia, August – November 2013

The Office of International Affairs administers the Fulbright Scholar program for Ohio State. Grant competitions are held annually. Faculty and staff interested in applying for the FY2015-16 award should contact Joanna Kukielka-Blaser. The deadline is February 1, 2014. For more information, visit cies.org.