Apr 1, 2017

2017 Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship Recipients Recognized

The Office of International Affairs recently recognized the 2016-2017 recipients of the Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship at the annual Wolfe Luncheon on April 17 at the Ohio Union. President Michael V. Drake, MD, other university leaders, the Wolfe family and representatives of The Dispatch Printing Company and the Wolfe Foundation, congratulated the 30 recipients. Students were awarded a $2,500 scholarship to help fund their individual long-term study abroad programs.

The Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship Endowed Fund was established September 1, 1999 with a $1 million gift from the Robert F. Wolfe and Edgar T. Wolfe Foundation. Over the last 16 years, scholarships in the amount of $2,000 each have been distributed annually to more than 390 undergraduate students. The Wolfe Scholarship, which is administered by the Office of International Affairs, is the cornerstone of Ohio State's study abroad programs and helps to enhance the educational experience of Ohio State students.

In 2009, Wolfe presented another $1 million gift to the university, which doubled the endowment that supports the Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarships. As a result, this year, the award amount increased to $2,500. The financial support of these scholarships has changed the lives of a growing number of students who have had the opportunity to participate in long-term study abroad programs.

To receive the scholarship, students must:

  • Be an Ohio resident, who has graduated from an Ohio high school
  • Have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.00
  • Be a Sophomore, junior, or senior standing at the time of the study abroad program
  • Active application to an Ohio State approved spring semester 2017 (autumn competition only), summer 2017, autumn semester 2017 or academic year 2017-2018 study abroad program

For the 2017-18 academic year, Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarships were awarded to:

  • Anthony Bauer, majoring in computer science and engineering (China)
  • Delaney Brochowski, majoring in fine arts (Greece)
  • Mary Chudy, majoring in Spanish and nursing (Costa Rica)
  • Hannah Datz, majoring in molecular genetics (Norway)
  • Madison Evans, majoring in civil engineering (Italy)
  • Jarrod Fyie, majoring in neuroscience (Uganda)
  • Anna Garrett, majoring in animal sciences (South Africa)
  • Alex Getz, majoring in visual communication design (Italy)
  • Lauren Haney, majoring in food, agricultural and biological engineering (Europe - multiple countries)
  • Yusef Hirsl Farah, majoring in accounting and information systems (Spain)
  • Brandon Jeffi, majoring in Japanese (Japan)
  • Zachary Kauffman, majoring in molecular genetics (Greece)
  • Liz Leszcz, majoring in mechanical engineering (England and Wales)
  • Tatum Marshall, majoring in English (Greece)
  • Allison Milewsky, majoring in psychology and French (France)
  • Erika Moore, majoring in art education (Greece)
  • Sarah Myers, majoring in nursing (Spain)
  • Monica Newport, majoring in speech and hearing sciences and linguistics (New Zealand)
  • Mouniratou Nikiema, majoring in accounting (China)
  • Julianna O'Brien, majoring in theatre (Canada)
  • Aaron Payne, majoring in architecture (Europe - multiple countries)
  • Meilenys Peraza, majoring in Japanese (Japan)
  • Anna Ross, majoring in psychology (Senegal)
  • Hannah Sherman, majoring in speech and hearing sciences (United Kingdom)
  • Amanda Slager, majoring in chemical engineering (Great Britain)
  • Jacob Tischler, majoring in criminology and criminal justice (Poland)
  • Jacob Wagner, majoring in actuarial science (Bolivia)
  • Skyler Ware, majoring in chemistry (Australia)
  • Thomas Wisbith, majoring in history (Italy)
  • Olivia Worthington, majoring in political science (United Kingdom)

Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship Luncheon