Ohio State Navbar

The Ohio State UniversityOffice of International Affairs

give a donation

2007-2008 Grant and Scholarship Recipients

Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarships Recipients

The Office of International Affairs selected 25 students this year to be awarded a Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship. This scholarship was established by John F. Wolfe, chairman and CEO of The Dispatch Printing Company, and has been given annually since 1999. The scholarship is the cornerstone of Ohio State's study abroad programs and helps enhance the educational experience to Ohio State students. Students will be recognized at a luncheon this week by President E. Gordon Gee and Wolfe.

The financial support provided by the Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship Endowed Fund has changed the lives of a growing number of students who have had the opportunity to participate in quarter or summer-long study abroad programs. Twenty-five scholarships, in the amount of $2,000 each, are awarded each year.

"These scholarships have helped the university attract those students seeking ways to enrich their academic program through international experience," said Dieter Wanner, interim associate provost of international affairs. "Studying abroad enables students to gain a sense of independence, become more confident, and acquire valuable skills in preparation for today’s job market."

To receive the scholarship, students must:

  • Be a full-time student of sophomore, junior, or senior rank.
  • Have a minimum overall GPA of 2.75.
  • Be an Ohio resident who has graduated from an Ohio high school.
  • Be admitted to an Ohio State approved quarter/summer-long study abroad program.

For the 2007-08 academic year, study abroad scholarships were awarded to:

  • Jeffrey Ault, senior majoring in mathematics and Spanish, (Ecuador)
  • Benjamin Borelli, sophomore majoring in aviation management and international business, (Germany)
  • Amy DeDonato, a junior majoring in architecture, (Italy)
  • Nicole Feronti, sophomore majoring in international studies, (Russia)
  • Grace Fry, junior majoring in Mathematics and French, (France)
  • Kristy Fultz, a junior majoring in biology with a minor in Spanish, (Spain)
  • Lindsey Gibson, a sophomore majoring in international studies and sociology, (France)
  • Andrea Green, a junior majoring finance and political science, (England)
  • Judith Gregory, a junior majoring in Japanese and French, (Japan)
  • Phillip Gustafson, a senior majoring in business finance, (Singapore)
  • Darrin Hulit, a sophomore majoring in agribusiness with a minor in international studies, (Dominican Republic)
  • Sean Ivery, a senior majoring in finance with a minor in fashion design and Italian, (Italy)
  • Tyler Kimberly, a sophomore majoring in Russian and philosophy, (Russia)
  • Charles Murman II, a sophomore majoring in industrial systems engineering, (France)
  • Loan (Kathy) Nguyen, a senior majoring in Spanish, (Spain)
  • Noorjahan Rahman, a junior majoring in history and political science with a minor in Spanish, (England)
  • Cara Ricci, a senior majoring in speech and hearing science with a minor in Spanish, (Mexico)
  • Samantha Roeth, a junior majoring in Spanish with a minor in Portuguese, (Spain)
  • Tal Sack, a junior majoring in international studies with a minor in Middle East Studies and economics, (Israel)
  • Julie Serr, a senior majoring in animal science with a minor in life sciences, (Australia)
  • Christina Shallenberger, a junior majoring in nursing, (Australia)
  • Kristin Silver, a sophomore majoring in psychology with a minor in neuroscience and Slavic and Eastern European Studies, (Czech Republic)
  • Matthew Suguitan, a junior majoring in mechanical engineering with a minor in German, (Germany)
  • Jessica Suman, sophomore majoring in landscape horticulture with a minor in agribusiness, (China)
  • Matthew Tobias, a senior majoring in middle childhood education with a minor in history, (Germany)

9th Annual Wolfe Study Abroad Recognition Luncheon Program (PDF)