Ohio State Navbar

The Ohio State UniversityOffice of International Affairs

give a donation

Supreme Court Upholds Executive Order

With the recent Supreme Court ruling upholding President Trump's executive order, it is important for international students and scholars to know that the Office of International Affairs is here to provide information and resources for individuals directly affected by this policy and to those who may have concerns.

Although the executive order restricts travel to the United States by nationals of Iran, Libya, Somalia and Yemen, an exemption continues to benefit individuals from those countries who have a credible and documented "bona fide relationship" with a person or entity in the United States. For example, students from the designated countries who have been admitted to U.S. educational institutions such as Ohio State, individuals who have accepted an offer of employment, or lecturers invited to address an audience in the United States have met the necessary requirements. This policy may lengthen wait times for those seeking new visas to enter the United States. Ohio State strongly encourages new students and scholars from Iran, Libya, Somalia and Yemen to begin the visa application process early.

The executive order also prohibits travel to the United States by nationals of North Korea and Syria. The university cautions against traveling outside the United States if a student or scholar is from one of these countries and is already here at Ohio State.

While the policy continues to have broad implications for the university community, Ohio State remains focused on providing assistance to any member of the Buckeye community who could be affected. If you have any questions or concerns about your immigration status, please contact iss@osu.edu.

As always, support resources for students are available through Student Life's Counseling and Consultation Service and for staff through the university's Employee Assistance Program.