Ohio State Navbar

The Ohio State UniversityOffice of International Affairs

give a donation

Mandela Fellows Visit Franklin County Board of Commissioners

Mandela Fellows visit Franklin County Commissioners

The Franklin County Board of Commissioners welcomed Ohio State Mandela Washington Fellows to a general session and a roundtable discussion with Commissioners John O'Grady, Marilyn Brown, and Kevin Boyce on June 20, 0217. As the administrative head of Franklin County government, the Board of Commissioners sets the strategic direction and fiscal priorities for the 30th largest county in the United States.

The Mandela Washington Fellowship, the flagship program of President Obama’s Young African Leaders Initiative (YALI), empowers young African leaders through academic coursework, leadership training, mentoring, networking, professional opportunities and support for activities in their communities. It is a program of the U.S. government and is supported in its implementation by IREX. The Ohio State University is a sub-grantee of IREX and is supporting the U.S.-based academic program of the Fellowship.