Ohio State Navbar

The Ohio State UniversityOffice of International Affairs

give a donation

2018 Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship Recipients Recognized

2017-2018 Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship RecipientsThe Office of International Affairs recently recognized the 2017-2018 recipients of the Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship at the annual Wolfe Luncheon on April 19 at the Faculty Club. President Michael V. Drake, MD, other university leaders, the Wolfe family and representatives of The Dispatch Printing Company and the Wolfe Foundation, congratulated the 29 recipients. Students were awarded a $2,500 scholarship to help fund their individual long-term study abroad programs.

The Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship Endowed Fund was established September 1, 1999 with a $1 million gift from the Robert F. Wolfe and Edgar T. Wolfe Foundation. Over the last 18 years, scholarships in the amount of $2,000 each have been distributed annually to more than 470 undergraduate students. The Wolfe Scholarship, which is administered by the Office of International Affairs, is the cornerstone of Ohio State's study abroad programs and helps to enhance the educational experience of Ohio State students.

In 2009, Wolfe presented another $1 million gift to the university, which doubled the endowment that supports the Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarships. As a result, this year, the award amount increased to $2,500. The financial support of these scholarships has changed the lives of a growing number of students who have had the opportunity to participate in long-term study abroad programs.

To receive the scholarship, students must:

  • Be an Ohio resident, who has graduated from an Ohio high school
  • Have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.00
  • Be a Sophomore, junior, or senior standing at the time of the study abroad program
  • Active application to an Ohio State approved spring semester 2017 (autumn competition only), summer 2017, autumn semester 2017 or academic year 2017-2018 study abroad program

For the 2017-18 academic year, Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarships were awarded to:

  • Simon Asem, majoring in city and regional planning (Europe - multiple countries)
  • Brittany Baab, majoring in health sciences (Europe - multiple countries)
  • Samantha Bailey, majoring in pharaceutical sciences (Spain)
  • Cyan Blackwell, majoring in public management, leadership and policy (France)
  • Amy Book, majoring in computer science and engineering and English (England)
  • Logan Bunde, majoring in international studies and Spanish (Spain)
  • Christina Clark, majoring in social work (Sweden)
  • Jey Drake, majoring in social work (Nicaragua)
  • Adar Elmi, majoring in public health (Japan)
  • Emily Feltz, majoring in political science and pre-law (Jordan and Ireland)
  • Jacob Ferrell, majoring in international studies (Spain)
  • Kate Fowler, majoring in Spanish and nursing (Spain)
  • Carra Gilson, majoring in public health (Costa Rica)
  • Megan Hart, majoring in mechanical engineering (Greece)
  • Carynne Hawkins, majoring in human development and family science (Australia)
  • Michael Hiett, majoring in finance and pre-law (Germany)
  • Rachel Kraynak, majoring in international business (Spain)
  • Haley Lash, majoring in psychology (South Africa)
  • Kendall Lindstrom, majoring in English (Austria)
  • Safiyo Mohamud, majoring in international studies (Japan)
  • Oluchi Obiagwu, majoring in nursing (Nicaragua)
  • Alec Parker, majoring in anthropology (Uganda)
  • Cameron Reed, majoring in music education (Brazil)
  • Garrett Rethman, majoring in political science (England)
  • Nick Schommer, majoring in sport industry (Germany, Austria)
  • Julianne Shirilla, majoring in nursing (Italy)
  • Zachary Slonsky, majoring in architecture (Europe - multiple countries)
  • Anna Starkey, majoring in evolution and ecology (Uganda)
  • Kristin Wall, majoring in sociology (Poland)

Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship Luncheon

Wolfe Scholarship Recipients Video