Ohio State Navbar

The Ohio State UniversityOffice of International Affairs

give a donation

International Affairs Faculty Council


The International Affairs Faculty Council is composed of faculty representing a variety of different colleges and departments. The purpose of the Council is:

  • To be the voice of the faculty on internationalization issues and bridge the gap between International Affairs administration and colleges, departments and academic programs across the university.
  • To facilitate shared commitment to implement the goals of the President’s and Provost’s Council on Strategic Internationalization.
  • To facilitate representative participation in implementing the university’s global mission.


The Council is composed of faculty members whose creativity, imagination, commitment and integrity are the basis for their appointment to serve. The Council will be composed of an outstanding group of faculty who will ensure that students are challenged to achieve excellence in international experience at Ohio State. The Council will ensure that the views and concerns of all academic programs are represented in its deliberations and recommendations to the Office of International Affairs. Each nominee will serve a term of three years, with a third of the Council changing every year.


To serve as a communication network and to provide advice for existing or potential cross-collegiate international initiatives and activities.

  • To confer with and assist the associate provost in the formulation of the academic agenda, policies, procedures and activities of the Office of International Affairs.
  • To propose a theme for and to plan an annual International Affairs Symposium.
  • To promote rewards for international research, teaching and engagements, recommend nominees and judge applications for university international awards.

Current Members

Faculty Council Department
Juan Alfonzo Microbiology
Franco Barchiesi African American and African Studies
Jose Diaz University Libraries
Wondwossen Gebreyes College of Veterinary Medicine and Global Health
Samuel Hodge College of Education and Human Ecology
Sharvari Karandikar-Chheda College of Social Work
Jesse Kwiek Department of Microbial Infection and Immunity
Jesus Lara Department of City and Regional Planning
Jiyoung Lee College of Public Health
John Lenhart Department of Civil, Environmental and Geodetic Engineering
Karen Mancl College of Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Joy McCorriston Department of Anthropology
Hagop Mekhjian Department of Biology/College of Medicine
Paul Nini Department of Design
Erik Nisbet School of Communication