Ohio State Navbar

The Ohio State UniversityOffice of International Affairs

give a donation

2015 Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship Recipients Recognized

Wolfe Scholarship Recipients

On Thursday, April 23, The Office of International Affairs recognized the 2014-2015 recipients of the Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship. President Michael V. Drake, MD, other university leaders and John F. Wolfe, chairman of The Dispatch Printing Company, congratulated the 33 recipients. Students were awarded a $2,500 scholarship to help fund their individual long-term study abroad programs.

The Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship Endowed Fund was established September 1, 1999 with a $1 million gift from the Robert F. Wolfe and Edgar T. Wolfe Foundation. Over the last 16 years, scholarships in the amount of $2,000 each have been distributed annually to more than 390 undergraduate students. The Wolfe Scholarship, which is administered by the Office of International Affairs, is the cornerstone of Ohio State's study abroad programs and helps to enhance the educational experience of Ohio State students.

In 2009, Wolfe presented another $1 million gift to the university, which doubled the endowment that supports the Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarships. As a result, this year, the award amount increased to $2,500. The financial support of these scholarships has changed the lives of a growing number of students who have had the opportunity to participate in long-term study abroad programs.

To receive the scholarship, students must:

  • Be a full-time student of sophomore, junior, or senior rank.
  • Have a minimum overall GPA of 3.00.
  • Be an Ohio resident who has graduated from an Ohio high school.
  • Be admitted to an Ohio State approved quarter/summer-long study abroad program.

For the 2014-15 academic year, Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarships were awarded to:

  • Rose Aldea, a senior majoring in Spanish (Spain)
  • Christina Allen, a senior majoring in Linguistics and Japanese (Japan)
  • Julianne Auckerman, a sophomore majoring in Pharmaceutical Sciences (Nicaragua)
  • Danielle Baker, a senior majoring in French (France)
  • Benjamin Beall, a senior majoring in Japanese (Japan)
  • Marissa Berggrun, a junior majoring in strategic communications (England)
  • Heather Bruns, a senior majoring in nursing (India)
  • Alexis Crockett, a junior majoring in neuroscience and psychology (Morocco)
  • Lauren DeCoy, a junior majoring in Spanish and English (Mexico)
  • Jesse Eckert, a sophomore majoring in culinary science (Brazil)
  • Ryan Fisher, a junior majoring in public health (India)
  • Leah Franklin, a junior majoring in strategic communications (Greece)
  • Ashley Graydon, a junior majoring in Japanese (Japan)
  • Amber Hamilton, a junior majoring in sociology (Brazil)
  • Demiera Hardy, a senior majoring in social work (Australia)
  • Juliana Hussey, a senior majoring in forestry, fisheries and wildlife (China)
  • Nicole Johnson, a senior majoring in psychology and criminology
  • Sean Jones, a junior majoring in Japanese (Japan)
  • Mark Kolat, a junior majoring in Spanish and French (Spain)
  • Jennifer Lange, a junior majoring in speech and hearing sciences (Canada)
  • Olivia Liao, a senior majoring in logistics management and Japanese (Japan)
  • Summer McCracken, a sophomore majoring in agribusiness and applied economics (Brazil)
  • Jessica McCune, a junior majoring in international relations and diplomacy (France)
  • Morgan Oates, a sophomore majoring in linguistics (Costa Rica)
  • Victoria Reisinger, a junior majoring in nursing (Nicaragua)
  • Michelle Sdao, a sophomore majoring in history and anthropology (Greece)
  • Kelly Skillman, a junior majoring in public health (Japan)
  • Kayla Unkrich, a junior majoring in psychology (Spain)
  • Brandon Upchurch, a senior majoring in psychology (Japan)
  • Kayla Whitehouse, a senior majoring in French (France)
  • Andre'as Williams, a sophomore majoring in sport industry (Argentina)
  • Logan Williams, a junior majoring in accounting (Germany)
  • Jasmine Yetts, a junior majoring in art (France)

Wolfe Study Abroad Recognition Luncheon Photos, Video and Program