Ohio State Navbar

The Ohio State UniversityOffice of International Affairs

give a donation

2012-2013 Grant and Scholarship Recipients

Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship

On Thursday, April 11, The Office of International Affairs will recognize the 2012-2013 recipients of the Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship. President E. Gordon Gee and other university leaders, past scholarship recipients, and John F. Wolfe, chairman and CEO of The Dispatch Printing Company, will congratulate the 29 recipients. Students were awarded a $2,500 scholarship to help fund their individual long-term study abroad programs.

The Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship Endowed Fund was established September 1, 1999 with a $1 million gift from the Robert F. Wolfe and Edgar T. Wolfe Foundation. Over the last 10 years, scholarships in the amount of $2,000 each have been distributed annually to more than 200 undergraduate students. The Wolfe Scholarship, which is administered by the Office of International Affairs, is the cornerstone of Ohio State's study abroad programs and helps to enhance the educational experience of Ohio State students.

In 2009, Wolfe presented another $1 million gift to the university, which doubled the endowment that supports the Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarships. As a result, this year, the award amount increased to $2,500. The financial support of these scholarships has changed the lives of a growing number of students who have had the opportunity to participate in long-term study abroad programs.

To receive the scholarship, students must:

  • Be a full-time student of sophomore, junior, or senior rank.
  • Have a minimum overall GPA of 2.75.
  • Be an Ohio resident who has graduated from an Ohio high school.
  • Be admitted to an Ohio State approved quarter/summer-long study abroad program.

For the 2012-13 academic year, Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarships were awarded to:

  • Tiera Adams, a junior majoring in human resources (South Africa and Zimbabwe)
  • Jessica Ahrns, a junior majoring in business (Hong Kong)
  • James Alford, a sophomore majoring in international studies (Israel)
  • Abdulrahman Alwattar, a sophomore majoring in public affairs (England)
  • Kristin Anderson, a sophomore majoring in early childhood education
  • Joshua Bauman, a sophomore majoring in architecture (Italy)
  • Tanicha Blake,  a sophomore majoring in international studies and Spanish (Mexico)
  • Shelby Bradford, a junior majoring in communications and English (England)
  • India Brown, a senior majoring in philosophy and psychology (Uganda)
  • Alyssa Davis, a junior majoring in English (England)
  • Megan Davis, a junior majoring in English and anthropology (England)
  • Jacob Farr, a junior majoring in food, agricultural and environmental sciences (China)
  • Alexis Good, a senior majoring in psychology (Spain)
  • Andrea Henderson, a junior majoring in journalism (Brazil)
  • Elizabeth Hutcheson, a junior majoring in Spanish and linguistics (Israel)
  • Emily Kathe, a senior majoring in operations management (Japan, China, Vietnam, Burma, Spain, Morocco, South Africa, India, Ghana, Singapore and Mauritus)
  • Michael Kyer, a junior majoring in east Asian languages and literatures (Japan)
  • Jennifer Lawson, a senior majoring in nursing (Nicaragua)
  • Michael Luden, a senior majoring in Japanese (Japan)
  • Katherine Petro, a junior majoring in French, philosophy and comparative studies (France)
  • Amanda Prickett, a junior majoring in animal sciences (Brazil)
  • Anthony Re, a junior majoring in biology (Honduras)
  • Alicia Rodgers, a junior majoring in microbiology (India)
  • Donald Shumaker, a junior majoring in history (Greece)
  • Jessica Terry, a junior majoring in international studies and Russian (Russia)
  • Lindsay VanFossen, a junior majoring in history (Germany, France and England)
  • Erika Ward, a junior majoring in sociology (India)
  • Joy Warner, a sophomore majoring in hospitality management (Great Britain)
  • Kristen Wright, a senior majoring in visual communication design (Germany)