Ohio State Navbar

The Ohio State UniversityOffice of International Affairs

give a donation

Fulbright and Fulbright-Hays Reception

Fulbright and Fulbright-Hays recipients recognized at 4th Annual Reception

Sucharita Sen, President E. Gordon Gee, Arindam DattaOhio State President E. Gordon Gee recognized students and faculty members from Ohio State who are recent Fulbright and Fulbright-Hays recipients during a reception at the Ohio Union on April 26, 2010. William Brustein, Vice Provost for Global Strategies and International Affairs, congratulated the honorees on their accomplishments and wished them well in their future academic endeavors. The 4th Annual Fulbright and Fulbright Hays Reception Program lists all the honorees.

Before sharing a video of Fulbright Reflections, Dr. Brustein shared his experiences of doing research in Germany and Italy on a Fulbright Fellowship in 1989. The Fulbright Reflections video features Ohio State faculty and students who have received Fulbright fellowships to go abroad, as well as the reflections of international scholars and students who have come to Ohio State on a Fulbright grant.

  • Sangeeta Mahapatra, visiting student researcher from India investigating counter terrorism studies at the Mershon Center for International Security Studies
  • Duane Roller, emeritus professor in the Greek and Latin Department who was a Distinguished Chair of Cultural Studies at the University of Graz in Austria
  • Diana Ruggiero, Fulbright U.S. Student Program recipient who spent 2007 to 2008 in Ecuador
  • Mark Soderstrom, a PhD student in the Department of History who spent 12 months in Russia gathering materials in archives and libraries in St. Petersburg, Moscow, Kazan, Tobolsk, and Irkutsk
  • Christian Salazar-Valenzuela, a doctoral student from Ecuador studying biology in the Department Evolution, Ecology and Organismal Biology
  • Maria Alejandra Jara De Marco, an MFA student in Dance from Paraguay
  • Myroslava Mudrak, a professor in History of Art who earned a Fulbright Fellowship study at the Kharkiv Museum of Literature in Ukraine
  • Sucharita Sen, a visiting scholar in the School of Environment and Natural Resources from New Delhi, India
  • Matthew Curtis, a PhD student in Slavic Linguistics performing dissertation research in Albania, Kosovo, Montenegro, and Macedonia
  • Ziad Sankari, a Master’s of Science student in electrical and biomedical engineering from Lebanon
  • Tim Berra, a Professor Emeritus of Evolution, Ecology and Organismal Biology who has received three Fulbright grants to do research and lecture in Australia

All of the scholars recognized at the president’s fourth annual reception will be conducting research abroad, working with international colleagues or lecturing to promote general global welfare.